What Chili Is Gluten-Free? Where to Get Safe Chili

If you have a gluten sensitivity and you’re craving chili, you shouldn’t have to worry too much about what chili is gluten-free. It’s easy enough to make your own gluten-free chili at home, and many commercial products are also gluten-free.

Since most traditional chili ingredients, like ground beef, beans, tomatoes, onions, and spices, are inherently gluten-free, making your own gluten-free chili is easy. The key to ensuring that your chili remains gluten-free is to avoid adding any gluten-containing thickeners or seasonings. For instance, some chili recipes call for flour as a thickening agent, which should be replaced with gluten-free alternatives like cornstarch.

If you’re out and about when a chili craving strikes, you’ll be glad to know that a lot of popular premade chili options are gluten-free, too, including the chili from Wendy’s and Chili’s. Do be careful, though: Cross-contamination is a possibility. A safer bet if you want chili in a hurry is to buy a can of chili and heat it up. Most brands provide gluten-free options; just be sure to check the label carefully before you buy.

Chuck 'The Chili Guy' Miller

Hey I'm Chuck "The Chili Guy" Miller. Chili is my passion so I have expertly crafted my list of tried and true award worthy chili recipes that will warm your soul. My gift to you from one chili connoisseur to another. - Chuck

Write A Comment